What Inspired me to FINALLY plan a Disney Trip?

20151115_151802-1.jpg

I’ll admit….many times over the years I would go onto Disney’s website and pick dates, a resort, park tickets and a dining package just to delete it or let the magic in my cart expire (I can’t lie…I still do it!). For years, I never thought a trip to Walt Disney World would be possible…I just thought it was one of those unattainable dreams.

But all that changed early in 2014.  I was bored one day, so like I do on many such occasions I popped over to YouTube to see what I could find.  I stumbled across a video of parents surprising their children with a trip to Walt Disney World.  That led me to a new search – Walt Disney World Trip Surprise.  In all seriousness, if you want to smile, laugh or get the feels…you have to watch some of these videos.  Some of the reactions are absolutely priceless.  And there are some amazingly creative parents out there when it comes to these surprises too (it’s a great place for ideas to surprise your own kiddos too!).

In the midst of all this, I stumbled onto a YouTube channel called “See Ya Reel Soon”.  If you haven’t checked it out, I highly recommend it.  This vlog follows the Disney Adventures of Joey and Ashley, a couple from New Hampshire who absolutely LOVES Disney!  They post new vlogs weekly on Wednesdays and I look forward to them every week!

I would venture to say within a week, I had watched every single video on the “See Ya Reel Soon” channel.  And at that point I knew…I needed to go to Disney World.

I then started researching Disney Vacation planning.  I am a big time planner, so I went a bit crazy.  If you’re not careful, planning a Disney trip can be pretty overwhelming.  I started out at a great site called WDW Prep School (http://wdwprepschool.com/) which is an incredibly helpful place to start if you have never planned a Disney Trip before.  I also recommend seeking out a Disney Travel Agent (look for one who is an “Authorized Disney Vacation Planner”). These agents specialize in Disney trips and they really know their stuff.

The best part about a Disney Travel Agent?  You don’t pay them a dime.  Your trip costs the same whether you book straight through Disney or through a Disney Travel Agent.  But you get the benefit of their extensive Disney knowledge and they will go above and beyond to get you all the discounts and deals they can.  And you can have them handle as much or as little of the planning as you want.

If you are thinking about planning a trip to Disney, I recommend House of Mouse Travel by Jessica (https://www.facebook.com/HouseofMouseTravelByJessica/).  She can help turn your trip into an amazing trip .  I’m hoping possibly have her share some of her tips and tricks in the near future.

I also immediately started looking into opening a Disney Vacation Account (https://disneyvacationaccount.disney.go.com/).  I will share more on this in a later post, but it is super helpful if you need a little help with the saving and budgeting part of your trip planning.

And in September of 2014, I officially made the deposit for our Disney trip planned for November of 2015.  Once that deposit is made…the excitement really starts to kick in!

Leave a Reply

