How Can I Afford a Disney Vacation?

Disney Dollars

Photo Courtesy of Pinterest

I know what you’re thinking…

“Disney is so expensive.”
“I can’t afford a trip to Disney.”
“I can go to _________ for vacation and it will be cheaper.”

Yes, Disney can be expensive. But so can vacations to many other destinations. If I planned a week long trip to say, Myrtle Beach, with hotel, all our meals, plus paying for multiple attractions and activities….I can guarantee it would be about the same cost for me to spend 5 days at Disney. In fact, I have priced it out to do a moderate hotel in Myrtle Beach, with meals and just a few attractions and it was almost $1600! We went to Disney in November for about $1700. Keep in mind, both these numbers are a generalization and not exact; plus those totals do not include souvenirs.

In, fact, let’s compare (this is for 2 adults)-
For approximately $1700 we got the following at Disney:
6 nights in our hotel (Pop Century)
The Dining Plan (1 QS, 1 TS and 1 Snack per person/per day, plus a refillable resort mug)
6 days of park tickets w/park hopper option to visit
4 Parks – Magic Kingdom, Epcot, Hollywood Studios and Animal Kingdom
Free transportation throughout Disney property
Magical memories to last a lifetime

For approximately $1600 we could get the following at Myrtle Beach:
6 night hotel stay (Best Western)
$40 for dinner each night
$20 for lunch each day
Legends in Concert
Medieval Times Dinner Show
Ripley’s Aquarium

Granted, I have never been to Myrtle Beach and would love to plan a trip there some time. But when I look at the value…for me Disney is the way to go. I see everything that is included in a Disney Trip and it is easy to see why so many people choose to go to Disney.

I know that these comparisons are not always going to be the same, especially when you have a larger family. But if you truly have a desire to visit the Most Magical Place on Earth, believe me, you will find a way.

So much of it is all about budgeting and saving. As you saw in my previous post, the Disney Vacation Account is super helpful when it comes to that. Planning your trip during off-peak times (if possible) and watching for discounts and deals can help too. If you cut out 1 or 2 times a month of eating out…and you will likely have $80-$100 each month to put towards your trip if you have a big family. That is huge! Start a savings jar where everyone drops their spare change…over time, it will really add up!

An authorized Disney Vacation Planner like House of Mouse Travel by Jessica can help you figure our how to save as well!

You can even try this handy 52 Week Savings Plan!

If you are finally making the leap and planning your Disney Trip, I’ll be sending plenty if Pixie Dust your way!

Now, excuse me while I go plan my next trip to Disney!

And don’t forget to share your thoughts in the comments!

Leave a Reply

